Fleetwood Mac – Seven Wonders (1987)

Scroll down to content

“Seven Wonders” is a song by Fleetwood Mac. It was released as the second single from the band’s 1987 album Tango in the Night. Stevie Nicks performed the lead vocals on this song, which was written by Sandy Stewart; while listening to the demo by Stewart (who did not provide any written lyrics), Nicks misunderstood the phrase “All the way down you held the line” as “All the way down to Emmeline”, which is what she sang; she also added an ambiguous word, sounding like “Sara” or “Tara”, during the breaks between choruses and verses. (The word may refer to Nicks’ song “Sara”, on Fleetwood Mac’s 1978 album Tusk, or even to another Nicks composition on Tango in the Night, “Welcome to the Room… Sara”; the lyrics to the latter song include references to Scarlett O’Hara and Tara, and Nicks has used the name “Sara” several times in the past as a pseudonym for herself.) These additions led to Nicks’ credit on the album for additional lyrics to the song. The song was also released as a 12-inch single, which included an extended remix, a dub mix, and an instrumental, “Book of Miracles”, which later became the track “Juliet” on Nicks’ 1989 album The Other Side of the Mirror. A limited edition 12-inch picture disc version was also released in the UK. In 2009 Pictureplane sampled “Seven Wonders” in song “Goth Star” from album Dark Rift. In 2013 Classixx sampled “Seven Wonders” in song “Hanging Gardens” from album of the same name.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: